View Single Post
Old 05-19-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Pretentious Douche
Jami's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 5,403

Ninjutsu Scaling

Ninjutsu have another exclusive mechanic referred to as scaling. Simply, all three branches of jutsu are broken into stages of power: one being least with seven being greatest. Lower level ninjutsu techniques often have variations of their effects listed with stage or stat numbers nearby. Take this example from the doton list:

Doton: Dorogou no Jutsu (Earth Element: Mud Moat Technique)
Requirements: Control 3, Intelligence 2
Description: This jutsu converts the area immediately surrounding the performer of it into a a deep murky moat full of mud. The moat is at least three feet deep and four feet in radius all around. Due to the nature of the moat, water walking alone is not very effective on it, given the slippery surface of the semi-solid earth. Only an area of 1½ feet in diameter remains of solid, dry land for the user to stand on. Stacks really well with Daichi Idou no Jutsu.*
Base Effect: Moat is three feet deep, four foot radius.
Stage Two Effect: Moat is five feet deep, six foot radius.
Stage Three Effect: Moat is seven feet deep, eight foot radius.
Stage Four Effect: Moat is still seven feet deep, ten foot radius.
The technique itself is listed as Stage One, which corresponds to the base effect, but there are three other effects listed each with a different stage. Whenever a character has a jutsu in the same list of the appropriate stage, they can scale up lower jutsu. So, with a stage two doton under their belt, a character could use the stage two effect of Mud Moat. With a stage four, they could use the base, two, three, and four effects at any time. Using a scaled up jutsu counts as a jutsu of the scaled stage: a base Mud Moat is stage one usage, a stage four Mud Moat is a stage four usage. Usages per thread will be covered in more detail below.

The other type of scaling works off stats. The following example is from the Konoha Mokuton list in stage five:

Mokuton: Tenshin Meikyuu no Jutsu (Wood Element: Shifting Labyrinth Technique)
Requirements: Power 18, Control 17, Reserves 17, Tactics 14
Description: Requiring a considerable amount of chakra, the user extends it across the battlefield; in particular the distance between him and his opponent(s). Using a combination of sight and extrasensory perception to ‘feel’ through his chakra, whenever an opponent steps onto this invisible field their path will be impeded by a square pillar (about 1.5m squared, and 4m high) that rises up swiftly and without warning in front of them (directly vertical or even diagonal). The obvious effect here is that they’ll step into it and not only look quite foolish, but the wooden pillar is founded so deeply in the earth and hardened through chakra that depending on the opponent’s approach, it can hurt quite a bit. Even if the opponent were to duck around the pillar, it would simply extend horizontally on either side to either catch their movements or collide with them violently. Even rising above it would certainly result in some harm as they would have to touch ground sometime, this in turn resulting in yet another pillar rising up quickly to catch their descent. With further training, the user can set up a literal maze which the opponent must maneuver skillfully or be smashed between two pillars.
Note:*While this technique is in use, no other techniques may be used.
18 Power:*May create up to six pillars.
-25 Power:*Ten pillars.
--32 Power:*Twelve pillars.
17 Control:*Area of influence is limited to about a 25m radius.
-25 Control:*A 35m radius.
--33 Control:*A 45m radius.
17 Reserves:*Can be used once a thread.
-26 Reserves:*Twice a thread.
--35 Reserves:*Three times a thread.
Notice that the scaling for upper level (five through seven) of techniques is based off the chakra stats and not stages obtained. Once a character has the stat at a listed requirement, he can use the new effect or a lesser one as a choice made when the technique is activated. These scaled techniques always count as the original stage no matter how high the stat requirements are. Scaling in such a way allows upper level techniques to get a bit more powerful as the character continues to grow and master ninjutsu.
Jami is offline